NCLB Waiver: Priority and Focus Schools

NCLB Waiver: Priority and Focus Schools

Under the state's No Child Left Behind waiver, Georgia is given greater flexibility in the way it measures school accountability and works to improve schools. Part of the statewide accountability plan provides targeted school improvement services and support for identified schools based on student performance, progress in closing gaps between subgroups, graduation rate, and subject achievement. Title I schools may be named a Priority, Focus, or Reward school. Both Title I and non-Title I schools may be identified as an Alert School.

Beginning in 2012-2013, schools designated as Priority or Focus must develop a Title I-funded Flexible Learning Program (FLP) that will provide qualifying students who are at risk of failing with additional learning opportunities. Each school will hold meetings to engage families and community partners in the development of a program to ensure they meet the needs of their students. Once developed, details of the program will be communicated with families whose students qualify for services. Title I schools designated as Priority or Focus schools will benefit from support interventions for three years.

Gwinnett currently has three Priority Schools: Meadowcreek HS, GIVE East, and GIVE West. Seven schools were identified as Focus Schools, based on 2011-12 criteria: Rosebud ES, Lilburn MS, Summerour MS, Sweetwater MS, Berkmar HS, Central Gwinnett HS, and Norcross HS. Phoenix HS, which is not a Title I school, is the only Alert School in GCPS.

Letter to parents whose children attend Priority and Focus schools about waiver status (English and Spanish)

Georgia Department of Education information about waiver

Supplemental Education Services (SES) and Flexible Learning Program (FLP) -- History